Das Max Brod Trio

Great musicians with innate cohesion and sheer expertise relate music as it is. Their love of and sheer fun in making music is outstanding. …
(Stephen Hall)

In 2005 the Max Brod Trio – Kerstin Strassburg (piano), Peter Rainer (violin), Christoph Lamprecht (violoncello) – was founded by the pianist as a permanent ensemble. The impulse for this was provided by intercultural concerts supported by the European Union. Therefore, musical and artistic communication between the peoples, in particular between the German, Czech, and Jewish culture is a major commitment of the MAX BROD TRIO. Max Brod was an impresario, critic and composer in early 20th century Prague, and he himself was committed to this communication, which more than ever deserves historic and public recognition.

Shortly after being founded the MAX BROD TRIO followed invitations and conducted tours to the Czech Republic, Great Britain, France, China and the United States. The CD recordings to date with Arcodiva (2006) and MDG Dabringhaus & Grimm (Schubert, 2010; Dvorak, 2011; Beethoven, 2012) have been internationally acclaimed.

In short the newest CD recording with MDG featuring piano trios by Robert Kahn will be released. This recording of music by the almost forgotten composer Robert Kahn promises to become a discovery for chamber music enthusiasts.

The artistic home of the MAX BROD TRIO is Berlin, Germany. The members of the trio share a deep commitment to unusual cultural projects and openness for new concepts and initiatives. In this vein the MAX BROD TRIO can be heard together with two radio moderators in its own concert series named “Salon Trialog” in Berlin since 2013

 

Kerstin Straßburg

Kerstin Strassburg studied piano in Bremen and Hannover with Professor Konrad Meister and in the class of Professor Hans Leygraf at the Berlin School of Arts. She continued her studies in Freiburg.

Already at this time a busy concerts schedule began. She participated in several international master classes and sponsored projects. Presently she performs as a soloist and sought after chamber musician with different ensembles and orchestras in Germany, other European countries and the United States.

Apart from performing she is involved in the organization and conceptual realization of concerts and cultural projects for public organizations, banks and the Federal Government of Germany in Berlin.

 

Peter Rainer

Peter Rainer was born in Rödelsee in Lower Franconia, and began to play the violin with 8 years of age. Until 1992 he studied violin with Max Speermann at the Hermann Zilcher Conservatory in Würzburg, and then followed an invitation of the Russian violin educator Dr. Eduard Schmiederer to the Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.

In 1994, during his study years in the United States, Peter Rainer became concertmaster of the international chamber orchestra “iPalpiti” in Los Angeles. With this ensemble he is still performing today bringing him to renowned concert such as Carnegie Hall, New York, and Walt Disney Concert Hall, Los Angeles.

After returning to Germany he served as first concertmaster of the Brandenburg Philharmonic Orchestera in Potsdam from 1996 – 2000. Together with 8 soloists of the orchestra he founded the “Persius Ensemble” in 1998. Peter Rainer is concertmaster of the Chamber Academy, Potsdam, with whom he performs regularly as a soloist.

Apart from performing as concertmaster Peter Rainer puts considerable emphasis on chamber music. In 2008 he founded the “Merlino String Quartet” and serves as violinist of the MAX BROD TRIO since 2012. Chamber musicians he has performed with include Daniel Hope, Julius Berger, Michael Sanderling, Antje Weithaas, Albrecht Mayer, Serio Azzolini and others. Although a busy performing artist he has for many years successfully conceptualized and realized interactive concerts for children. “Moz-artig?”, “Wie klingt der Südern (How does the South sound)”, “Das Pferd auf der Geige (The horse on the violin)”, “Till Eulenspiegel”, “Ferdinand der Stier (The bull Ferdinand)“ are just some of the titles of an array of outreach projects that have become an integral part of his artistic life.

As renowned educator he teaches at the University of the Arts Berlin (i.e. as assistant to Prof. Uwe-Martin Haiberg) since 2007, as well as at the Julius-Stern Institute for young musical talent promotion.

Christoph Lamprecht

Christoph Lamprecht first studied Violoncello and baroque cello at the School of Arts in Frankfurt (Main). He received his concert exam with honors from the School for Music ‘Hanns Eisler’ in Berlin in the class of Josef Schwab.

As a soloist he was a guest at the “Rheingau Music Festival”, the “Alte Oper” Frankfurt, the “Saint Petersburg Capella”, the “Villa Music” and many other festivals.

His work with the “Mainz Baroque Ensemble” was documented in numerous radio and television productions.

Since 1995 Christoph Lamprecht serves as deputy solo cellist at the “Comical Opera Berlin”.

Das Max Brod Trio

Great musicians with innate cohesion and sheer expertise relate music as it is. Their love of and sheer fun in making music is outstanding. … (Stephen Hall)

Das Max Brod Trio, Kerstin Straßburg (Klavier), Peter Rainer (Violine), Christoph Lamprecht (Violoncello), wurde im Jahr 2005 von der Pianistin als festes Ensemble gegründet. Anlass hierfür waren interkulturelle Konzerte, welche von der Europäischen Union gefördert werden. Die künstlerisch-musikalische Verständigung zwischen den Völkern, insbesondere zwischen der deutschen, tschechischen und jüdischen Kultur ist ein wichtiges Anliegen des Trios. Max Brod, der als Impresario, Kritiker und Komponist im Prag des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts tätig war, bemühte sich um eben diese Verständigung und verdient mehr als bislang in das historische Bewusstsein der Öffentlichkeit gerückt zu werden.

Bereits kurz nach Gründung des Trios folgten Einladungen und Tourneen nach Tschechien, Großbritannien, Frankreich, China und in die USA. Auf erfreulich große internationale Resonanz stießen die bisherigen CD-Aufnahmen des Klaviertrios bei Arcodiva (2006) und MDG Dabringhaus&Grimm (Schubert 2010, Dvorak 2011, Beethoven 2012).

Demnächst erscheint die neueste CD bei MDG mit Klaviertrios von Robert Kahn. Die Aufnahme dieses fast in Vergessenheit geratenen Komponisten verspricht eine Entdeckung für Kammermusikliebhaber zu werden.

Das Max Brod Trio hat seine künstlerische Heimat in Berlin. Zu seinen besonderen Anliegen gehören Offenheit für neue Konzepte und Initiativen sowie ungewöhnliche kulturelle Projekte. So ist das Max Brod Trio seit 2013 zusammen mit zwei Radio-Moderatoren mit einer eigenen Konzertreihe unter dem Namen „Salon Trialog“ in Berlin zu hören.

 

Kerstin Straßburg

Kerstin Straßburg wuchs in Washington DC auf, studierte Klavier als Jungstudentin und dann in Hannover bei Prof. Konrad Meister. Ihr Examen machte sie in der Klasse von Prof. Hans Leygraf an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin.

Bereits in dieser Zeit begann eine rege Konzerttätigkeit. Sie nahm an diversen internationalen Meisterkursen und Förderprojekten teil. Nunmehr tritt sie als Solistin und gefragte Kammermusikerin mit verschiedensten Ensembles und Orchestern nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in anderen europäischen Ländern und in den USA auf.

Sie ist daneben tätig in der Organisation und Konzeption von Konzerten und Kulturprojekten für öffentliche Organisationen, Banken und die Bundesregierung in der Hauptstadt Berlin.

Peter Rainer

Peter Rainer, geboren in Rödelsee in Unterfranken, begann mit 8 Jahren Geige zu spielen. Er studierte bis 1992 bei Max Speermann am Hermann Zilcher Konservatorium in Würzburg und folgte dann einer Einladung des russischen Violinpädagogen Dr. Eduard Schmieder an die Southern Methodist University nach Dallas, Texas/USA.

Noch in den Studienjahren in den USA wurde Peter Rainer 1994 Konzertmeister des internationalen Kammerorchesters iPalpiti in Los Angeles. Gemeinsam mit iPalpiti tritt er bis heute in namhaften Sälen, wie der Carnegie Hall in New York und der Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles auf.

Nach seiner Rückkehr aus den USA war er 1996-2000 erster Konzertmeister der Brandenburgischen Philharmonie Potsdam. Mit acht weiteren Solisten dieses Orchesters gründete er 1998 das Persius Ensemble. Peter Rainer ist Konzertmeister der Kammerakademie Potsdam, mit der er auch regelmäßig als Solist auftritt.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Konzertmeister legt Peter Rainer einen besonderen Schwerpunkt auf Kammermusik. Er gründete 2008 das Merlino Streichquartett und ist seit 2012 Geiger des Max Brod Klaviertrios. Weitere Kammermusikpartner, mit denen Peter Rainer zusammen aufgetreten ist, sind Daniel Hope, Julius Berger, Michael Sanderling, Antje Weithaas, Albrecht Mayer, Sergio Azzolini u.a. Neben seinen Konzertauftritten konzipiert und realisiert er seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich interaktive Konzerte für Kinder: „Moz-artig?“, „Wie klingt der Süden?“, „Das Pferd auf der Geige“, „Till Eulenspiegel“, „Ferdinand der Stier“ – all dies sind Titel einer Palette, Kunstgattungen übergreifender Projekte, welche ein fester Bestandteil in seinem musikalischen Leben geworden sind.

Als anerkannter Pädagoge unterrichtet er seit 2007 an der Universität der Künste Berlin (u.a. als Assistent von Prof. Uwe-Martin Haiberg) und dem Julius–Stern-Institut für musikalische Nachwuchsförderung.

Christoph Lamprecht

Christoph Lamprecht studierte zunächst Violoncello und Barockcello an der Hochschule für Musik in Frankfurt am Main. Sein Konzertexamen absolvierte er ‚mit Auszeichnung‘ an der Berliner Hochschule für Musik ‚Hanns Eisler‘ in der Klasse von Josef Schwab.

Als Solist war er u.a. zu Gast beim Rheingau Musikfestival, an der Frankfurter Alten Oper, bei der St. Petersburger Cappella, bei ‚Villa Music‘ und vielen weiteren Festivals.

Seine Arbeit mit dem Mainzer Barockensemble wurde in zahlreichen Rundfunk- und Fernsehproduktionen dokumentiert.

Seit 1995 ist Christoph Lamprecht stellvertretender Solocellist an der Komischen Oper Berlin.